Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Global Zero Commission to Make Recommendations Before Obama/Medvedev Nuclear Weapons Summit

Commission Meeting in Washington, D.C. June 28-29
WASHINGTON, June 17 /PRNewswire/ -- The Global Zero Commission, a group of political and military leaders from the U.S., Russia and other key countries, will outline a step-by-step process to achieve the elimination of nuclear weapons -- a goal called for by Presidents Obama and Medvedev at their first meeting on April 1. The outline will include specific recommendations for the Obama and Medvedev administrations in advance of the July 6-8 Moscow Summit.
The press briefing will take place Monday, June 29 at 1:30 pm EDT at the St. Regis Hotel, 923 16th St. NW, Washington, DC, in the Astor Ballroom on the first floor.
The Commission is part of the Global Zero initiative ( -- an international, non-partisan effort formed in response to the growing threats of proliferation and nuclear terrorism and dedicated to achieving the phased, verified elimination of all nuclear weapons. Global Zero is spearheaded by a group of more than 100 leaders worldwide, including many who have worked at senior levels with issues of national security such as former heads of state, former foreign ministers, former defense ministers, former national security advisors, and more than 20 former top military commanders.
Global Zero Commissioners
Dr. Jacques Attali, Honorary Member, Council of State, and Fmr. Advisor to the President, Republic of France
Amb. K. Shankar Bajpai, Chairman, National Security Advisory Board, Fmr. Secretary of the Ministry of External Affairs, India
Amb. Alexander Bessmertnykh, Fmr. Foreign Minister, the Soviet Union
Amb. Richard Burt, Fmr. United States Chief Negotiator, Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START)
P.M. Yasuo Fukuda, Fmr. Prime Minister, Japan
Sen. Chuck Hagel, Fmr. United States Senator
Amb. Wolfgang Ischinger, Fmr. Ambassador of Germany to the United Kingdom and the United States
Gen. (Ret.) Jehangir Karamat, Fmr. Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and Fmr. Ambassador of Pakistan to the United States
Amb. Shaharyar Khan, Fmr. Foreign Secretary and Ambassador of Pakistan to Jordan, the United Kingdom and France
Anthony Lake, Fmr. National Security Advisor, the United States
Sen. Mikhail Margelov, Senator and Chairman, Committee for Foreign Affairs, Council of Federation, Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation
Col. Gen. (Ret.) Evgeny Maslin, Fmr. Chief of the Main Directorate, Ministry of Defense, Russian Federation
Amb. Brajesh Mishra, Fmr. National Security Advisor, India
Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Guangqian Peng, Strategist, Academy of Military Science, the People's Republic of China
Amb. Thomas Pickering, Fmr. Ambassador of the United States to the United Nations, Russia and India
Sir Malcolm Rifkind, Fmr. Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, and Fmr. Secretary of Defense, the United Kingdom
Amb. Yukio Satoh, Fmr. Ambassador of Japan to the United Nations
Gen. (Ret.) Jack Sheehan, Fmr. Commander in Chief, United States Atlantic Command
Air Chf. Mshl. (Ret.) SP Tyagi, Fmr. Chief of the Air Staff, Indian Air Force
Dr. Evgeny Velikhov, President, Kurchatov Institute
Amb. Jianmin Wu, Fmr. Permanent Representative of the People's Republic of China to the United Nations, and Ambassador to France and the Netherlands
Dr. Jiemian Yang, Senior Fellow and President, Shanghai Institute for International Studies, the People's Republic of China
Mr. Igor Yurgens, Chairman of the Management Board, Institute of Contemporary Development

No comments:

Post a Comment